CFA Society Switzerland

Ethics and Professionalism for the Finanzplatz

Winning Zurich team: (left to right) Moritz Itan, Chiphong Vu and Tobias Habetha,​ (Ivan Kraljevic not in the picture)




​The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an equity research competition among student teams from the world's top university business and finance programs.

Students write an equity research report on a publicly traded company and present their findings to an expert panel.  The teams are judged on their written reports, their presentations and a winner is selected. Throughout the competition, leading investment professionals volunteer as mentors and judges, as well as teaching students best practices in equity research and corporate analysis.  Learn more about the Research Challenge.

CFA Society Switzerland is hosting the local competition on the CFA Institute Research Challenge for the 8th year in conjunction with participating universities. The universities​ assemble teams of 3-5 business and finance students who work directly with the company selected for the Challenge in research and preparing their analysis.

This year's subject company is Ascom​, an international solutions provider with comprehensive know-how in healthcare workflows and telecommunications.  The company is active in Wireless Solutions and Network testing.

​For further information, please contact​


  • 6 October 2016 - Kick-off Session in Zurich​
  • 16 November 2016 - 09:00h - Conference Call with subject company
  • 6 January 2017 - Deadline Reports
  • 21 February 2017 - Deadline Presentation
  • 23 February 2017 - Swiss Final Presentations and Award Ceremony at University of Zurich
  • 26-27 April 2017 - EMEA Regional in Prague/Czech Republic
  • 28 April 2017 - Global Final in Prague/Crzech Republic
Swiss Final Presentations and Award Ceremony on 23 February 2017 at University of Zurich
13:30h      Final presentations
                 V​enue: main building of University of Zurich (KO2-F-152)

18:30        Award Ceremony followed by Apéro
                 Venue: Aula of University of Zurich (KOLG-201)

Participating Universities
University of St.Gallen
University of Zurich
University of Lausanne
University of della Svizzera italiana (USI)
University of Basel
University of ​Neuchâtel
University of Liechtenstein